- To find out if someone has blocked you on Messenger, you should first send them a message.
- If your message is not delivered, even after the recipient has been online, you’re most likely blocked.
- To tell if your message isn’t delivered, it will have an empty circle with a check mark for an icon.
It’s difficult to tell if someone has blocked you on Facebook.
You won’t receive a notification that someone has blocked your account because they do this for privacy and security reasons.
The Messenger app’s behavior when you try to send a message can, however, be used to determine whether you have been blocked.
Here’s how, on desktop and mobile, you can figure out whether someone has blocked you on Facebook Messenger.
How to know if someone blocked you on Messenger on mobile
When you message someone on the Messenger app, you can hunt for clues that they have blocked you.
1. Launch the Messenger app on your smartphone.
Quick tip: By tapping the Messenger symbol in the top right corner of the Facebook app, you can also access the Messenger app from within that application.
In the top right corner of the screen, tap the new chat symbol.
3. Use the search bar to look up the person you believe has blocked you, and then tap their name in the list of results.
4. Type a brief message in the message field, such as “Hello,” and then press the send icon to the right.
5. Verify the message’s delivery status.
The delivery statuses denote the following:
- Empty circle with no check mark The message has not been sent. This is typically because you don’t have any internet access when you try to send a message.
- Empty circle with a check mark: The message has been sent but not delivered to the recipient.
- Filled circle with a check mark: The message has been delivered.
- Icon with the recipient’s profile picture: The message has been read.
You should see the filled-in check mark icon as soon as your message is delivered, provided that the recipient is connected into Facebook. Of course, it can take some time for it to be read because your receiver needs to open Messenger and check the message thread.
When you send a message to someone and it is not received, as evidenced by the appearance of simply an empty circle with a checkmark, it typically signifies one of two things:
- The user has not logged into Facebook.
- The user has blocked you on Messenger.
6. Verify the Facebook profile of the receiver. The recipient is likely logged into Facebook if you observe that he or she has posted to their page or commented on others’ postings. You have probably been blocked if your message is still not sent.
How to know if someone blocked you on Messenger on desktop
When using Messenger on a desktop computer, the indicators that someone has blocked you are similar to those found on mobile devices. Simply send the person a message using Messenger’s desktop app, check to see if it was delivered, and then visit their Facebook profile to see if there has been any recent activity.
1. Log into your Facebook account on messenger.com using your preferred desktop browser, if you haven’t done so already.
Quick tip: If you’re on the Facebook website, click the Messenger icon in the top right of the top menu bar, then select See all in Messenger from the dropdown menu to open Messenger.
2. Type the name of the person you believe has blocked you into the search box in the left panel, and then click on their name when it appears in the list of search results.
3. Type a short message, such as “Hello,” in the message box and press the send button on the right.
4. Verify the message’s delivery status icon. The message will not be delivered as the first indication that you have been blocked. Naturally, this could indicate that they haven’t even logged into Facebook yet, so you’ll need to look for another clue.
5. Look for any most recent activity on the recipient’s Facebook profile. They may have blocked you if your message still hasn’t been received and they’ve been posting, responding to, and commenting on other posts.